Sunday, June 29, 2014

The Amish Blacksmith... a book review


Series: The Men of Lancaster County, #2
Publish Date: August 2014
ISBN: 9780736957366

At 24, Jake Miller is ready to settle down and begin a family.  His plan seems to be coming true - courting the beautiful Amanda, completing his apprenticeship at a farrier (shoeing horses), and working on the side as a "horse whisperer."

When his boss' niece Priscilla returns home after 6 years, he is asked to reintroduce her into the Amish circle of friends her age.  What seems like a simple request puts Amanda into high gear as matchmaker.  Will Priscilla decide to remain home or will she return to Indiana and a possible engagement to an older Amish man?

This book enlightened me on the business of farrier and horse show competition.  Mindy Clark and Susan Meissner have introduced the reader to a handful of faithful Amish who only desire to please God and live a simple life.  But, nothing is simple when broken hearts and budding love are involved!

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars


I enjoyed the book; yet, I was not surprised at the outcome.  This is a good "curl up in your favorite chair and enjoy the story" book.

I received a complimentary e-copy of The Amish Blacksmith from NetGalley and Harvest House Publisher for my honest review.


Sunday, June 22, 2014

Appalachian Serenade... a book review


Series: Appalachian Blessings
ISBN: 978-1-44126-498-5
Bethany House Publishers
Publish date: June 4, 2014
Genres: Christian, Romance, Historical

Set in 1945 West Virginia, Delilah returns home to WV after her husband died prematurely and deeply in debt.  While she tried to stay in Chicago, Delilah had a hard time keeping work since the soldiers were returning home and reclaiming their lives.

To keep from being a burden on her sister and brother-in-law, Delilah seeks work to help the household.  When she visits the local store to learn of any jobs, Robert Thorton hires her to work alongside him. 

The novella is only 115 pages long, but it carries the reader down the path of God's dream for your life.  The main characters need to discern following God's path or their own for their lives.  Will they choose God's direction?  When do you know when you are following God or your own desires?

Sarah has written a well-thought out novella introducing the readers to characters who continue in the series.  We are given an inside look at the difficulties of life after the war and how, even the smallest details, are planned by God.  I enjoyed meeting these new friends and look forward to reading the first full novel Miracle in a Dry Season soon.

My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars


Currently, you can download a free Kindle download of Appalachian Serenade HERE.  I'm looking forward to reading Miracle in a Dry Season in August 2014!

I received a complimentary e-book from Bethany House Publisher for my honest review. 



Tuesday, June 17, 2014

A Deadly Business... a book review


by Lis Wiehl with April Henry
Series: A Mia Quinn Mystery, book 2
Publish date: June 10, 2014
Thomas Nelson Publisher
ISBN: 978-1595549044

After the untimely death of her husband Scott, Mia Quinn is slowly adjusting to a “new normal” with her two children.  She was surprised by the amount of debt her husband had hidden from her.  Now, as she juggles her career as a prosecutor and single parenthood trying to keep the creditors at bay, Mia learns that keeping her family safe is the only thing that matters. 

As Mia delves into a new criminal case including juveniles, homicide Detective Carlson shocks her with his thoughts on her husband’s death – it was not an accident.  Can Mia and the detective uncover any clues pertaining to her husband’s death 7 months later?  Why would anyone want to kill an accountant?  Was Scott into unethical behavior when he died?

From the first paragraph to the last, the action jumps off the page.  In typical Lis Wiehl style, the reader is pulled into the action and story line quickly and effectively.  Lis weaves the two story lines so well – the case involving juveniles and they mystery behind her husband’s death.
Another great read from Lis Wiehl with April Henry!

Out of the 9 books that Lis Wiehl has written I have read 6 of them includes all three from The East Salem Trilogy, Eyes of Justice from The Triple Threat Series, and the first Mia Quinn Mystery series A Matter of Trust.  The three I have not read are on my bookshelf to read.  Yes, her books are that good that I buy each in print!

My rating: 5 stars of out 5

A+ in my book!

I received a complimentary copy of A Deadly Business from Thomas Nelson Publisher and their BookLook Blogger Program for my honest review.



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...